top of page

New Facilitators!

Young Leaders of Tomorrow is pleased to welcome three new members to our 2012 Junior Facilitator team!

Lauren is a sophomore at the University of Pennsylvania, majoring in Humanistic Philosophy and pursuing studies in International Relations as well. She is a mentor and tutor for “Write-On,” a literacy program for underprivileged middle school students in Philadelphia, and is passionate about writing, education, and children of all ages.

From Lauren:

I was born in Boston, but grew up in San Francisco and New York City. My parents always encouraged me to view myself first and foremost as a citizen of the world, and from city to city, and high school to college, I have taken this global-mindedness with me. It has propelled me to seek out courses and experiences that have opened my eyes to social and political issues across many different countries, and I look forward to working with the young leaders of Singapore and Hong Kong to discover how together we may form a global citizenship that values social responsibility as highly as individual success.

Devon is a junior at Columbia University in the City of New York, majoring in English. She is a member of Students for Education Reform at Columbia, and a passionate advocate for education policy reform. She hopes to live in a world where every child is entitled to free, high-quality education no matter where he/she lives.

From Devon:

I was born and raised in Washington, DC, and growing up in a city with one of the worst public school districts in the USA, I saw first hand the difficulties a child faces in receiving a high-quality education simply because of where she lives. Through hard work, however, I made my way to Columbia University and am now a Junior. During the summer after my freshman year, I interned with the Rebecca Project for Human Rights (RPHR), a non-profit policy organization based in Washington that advocates for justice and policy reform for vulnerable women and girls in the US and Africa. Working with RPHR nourished my interest in policy, and because of this and my passion for education, I intend to pursue a career in education policy reform. Over the past year, I have worked with educational and literacy programs in my school community, and upon graduation next year, I hope to pursue a joint degree in Law and Education Policy.

Lily is a Senior at Harvard College, majoring in government with minor in environmental science and public policy. She was Co-President of Harvard China Forum for 2010-2011, one of the most influential China-related conferences in North America, and is passionate about education and environmental protection.

From Lily:

Hey fellow leadership aspirants! I grew up in Shenzhen, China with a humble family background, came to the States for public schooling since age 14, and became the first college student of my family four years later. I love teaching so much that I have basically taught students ranging from kindergardeners to professors in both urban and rural settings. I also care very much about technology and energy efficiency and hope to run an energy-related company within the next ten years.

June is a sophomore at Cambridge University, studying Politics and International Studies. She’s an international student representative at the Undergraduate Student Union and is passionate about international cultural exchange through travel, writing and discourse.

From June:

I was born in China, raised in Finland, and I now study in the United Kingdom. Each move to a new home has taught me that the best way to learn is not from a model in a textbook, but through experience and discussion. This is why I am drawn to the philosophy of the Young Leaders of Tomorrow Program. I am very excited about sharing ideas and working on service projects with the young leaders attending the program. This world is ours to discover, shape, and build.


Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page