top of page

Welcome Junior Facilitators Joining YLOT 2013!

Allanah is a rising Sophmore and Peabody Scholar at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. She is majoring in Human and Organizational Development, with a focus in Leadership and Organizational Development, and plans to pursue it with a double major in Cognitive Studies and a minor in Corporate Strategy. As an avid leader, Allanah has become involved with many organizations on campus including being Corporate Sponsorship chair for Vanderbilt’s chapter of the American Cancer Society’s national fundraiser, Relay For Life, a host for prospective Vanderbilt students, a member of Students Consulting for Non-Profits and a member of her Residence House Advisory Council, to name a few.

From Allanah:

“All my life I have been committed to transitioning the things I learn into everyday use with the long term goal of becoming a leader who helps others grow to their fullest potential. During this past semester, I have experienced my own leadership growth as I engaged in semester long group projects to solve a specific problem facing the Vanderbilt campus. The materials I’ve analyzed and lessons I have learned as a result of this work have made me incredibly excited to engage with students in order to help guide them and give them the tools they need for full and meaningful growth.”

Annie is a Yale University junior majoring in Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry; while she has deep-rooted interests in the sciences, she enjoys the benefits of a liberal education and pursuing a diverse range of interests. Annie is involved in policy and debate via various high school and college Youth & Government programs. In addition, as an Executive Committee member of the Yale Ballroom Dance Team, she also has a strong passion for competitive ballroom dance.

From Annie:

“I believe that my high school and college years have been particularly formative in my beliefs and aspirations. I’ve discovered the importance of servant-leadership – where leading begins with a natural desire to help others, and all else follows. I’m hoping to inspire others to expand their boundaries of experience, learning something about themselves and the world around us in the process.”

Sophia is a rising junior and John Jay scholar at Columbia University. In addition to pursuing the premedical track, she is majoring in Biology with a concentration in English, a combination that allows her to indulge her interests in both the humanities and the sciences. Outside of academia, Sophia is on the Event Planning Committee for TEDxColumbiaCollege, a student-run organization that hosts an annual TEDx conference at Columbia University, and pursues her lifelong passion for learning languages. Her linguistic aspirations began with the efforts of her Polish parents and continued in school with studies of English, French and Spanish. She especially loves being in conversation with native speakers and has seen this interest fuel her travels around the world.

From Sophia:

“As I progress through my college career, I find myself increasingly aware of the importance of leadership skills. In addition to my passion for the sciences, I continue to value languages, travel, and the simple joy of working in collaboration with others. I am excited to learn more about myself and about my peers as we work together to guide the students of the Young Leaders of Tomorrow program.”


Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page