top of page

Welcome Junior Facilitators Joining YLOT 2014!


Tiffany is second year undergraduate at the University of Oxford majoring in Modern Languages (French and Spanish), with a special focus on modern French and Latin American literature. Driven by an interest to help others, she is actively involved in wide range of initiatives serving the local and wider community. She takes an avid interest in helping younger peers, which led her to organise SHELP, a student-led initiative targeting younger students who require help with Spanish, and co-ordinate the Intro UK program to mentor students applying to UK schools and universities. As part of Oxford RAG (Raising and Giving), she is also able to combine her interest in event management and her charitable passion by co-organising the annual college charity ball as Vice President, as well as leading the annual fundraising cocktail party. Her other interests include journalism, acting and fashion.

“ For me, the YLOT program is invaluable in its unique holistic approach to teaching and learning. I value this opportunity even more so considering the alarming lack of personal development opportunities for young people today – myself included – especially in Hong Kong, where the focus on learning has traditionally been on academic progress. In particular, I echo YLOT’s emphasis on leadership, as I believe it is a transferable quality that is essential for any role or area of expertise, especially in today’s dynamic and fast-paced environment. I believe the value of the YLOT program also lies in its focus on aspects of leadership that are often undermined, such as self-awareness, empathy and negotiation, which are as important as the specific ability to direct others. Through YLOT, I hope as much to inspire young people and facilitate them in becoming all-round team players and learners, as to become a better leader myself by learning from senior facilitators, students and NGOs alike – because the day you stop learning is the day you stop living.”

Melissa is a junior at Columbia University majoring in English. Her main interest is in writing, but she has learned a lot from and thoroughly enjoys the

Core Curriculum at the College. Melissa works at the school newspaper, the Columbia Daily Spectator, as a sports columnist. Her passion for sports extends beyond the paper as well. She ran track and field in high school and holds a black belt in karate, competing in many national and international competitions. Melissa also interns at the YWCA of the City of New York, where she is playing a large role in the organization of a symposium being held in June, and works at Breakthrough New York, where she is an eighth grade tutor.

“As an aspiring teacher, I constantly look to immerse myself in opportunities where I will have the chance to help students grow, in both their academics and practical skillsets, through my guidance and support. I know that through these processes, I will be able to learn a lot about myself, in terms of my strengths and weaknesses as a teacher, and what I can improve on for the future. It is this give-and-take process that I look forward to most at The Open Classroom in YLOT, especially because it is not the most traditional education setting, given its mission and strategies. I am confident that I will be walking away with a great learning experience after a summer at The Open Classroom, and I look forward to the challenge!”


Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page